Flamingos

I was going to blog yesterday but I got tired and went to bed. Yesterday was a mixed emotion day. It was the anniversary of my cousin’s death. 13 years ago she was taken due to a car accident during bad weather. She was a freshman in collage and of course using that invincible thought process if school is canceled due to the weather than lets go skiing.

She was such a wonderful person. My mom told me when she first had passed that most of the grief books talk about how the parents worry that a young life will be forgotten by those outside of the family. So I make sure to post on FB every year about my cousin and memories I have. I even created my own hashtag #remEMber so that I can tag posts for her birthday etc.

I also spend a lot of time buying Flamingo things to send to my aunt. When Emily died, the next morning the neighbor stuck a flamingo in my aunt and uncle’s front yard so that they would a least have one smile for the day. After all if an unexpected flamingo shows up in your yard despite the horrible news you received the night before, wouldn’t you smile?

Leave a Reply

